Billions of Android Devices Soon Getting App Permissions Auto-Resetting

With Android 11, introduced a feature for apps that reset their permissions after a certain amount of time if the app wasn’t being used. After all, there’s no reason for an app to have access to media/storage, your microphone, and/or your camera if you aren’t using the app. It’s a privacy thing, one that was totally welcomed.

announced this week that it is bringing this same auto-resetting feature to every 6.0 and newer device. We’re talking billions of devices, with anything running API level 23 or higher getting in on the privacy update.


Here’s ’s rundown of what’s to come.

In 11, we introduced the permission auto-reset feature. This feature helps protect user privacy by automatically resetting an app’s runtime permissions – which are permissions that display a prompt to the user when requested – if the app isn’t used for a few months. Starting in December 2021, we are expanding this to billions more devices. This feature will automatically be enabled on devices with  Play services that are running 6.0 (API level 23) or higher.

The feature will be enabled by default for apps targeting 11 (API level 30) or higher. However, users can enable permission auto-reset manually for apps targeting API levels 23 to 29.

There’s much more to know for developers, so if you happen to develop apps, we recommend checking out ’s full post by following the link below. For users, all you need to know is that you’ll see this feature begin hitting your 6.0+ device beginning this December.

// Android Developers

Via: droid-life.com

Share with friends:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on reddit
Reddit